Psalm 15:2b,3 Truth-Speaking

Verse 2b, 3: “who speaks the truth from his heart and has no slander on his tongue, who does his neighbor no wrong and casts no slur on his fellow man.”

We now come to the heart of the issue: how must our relationship with God affect our relationship with others? We have discovered our need to reverence God as supremely holy; We have embraced the amnesty provided by Christ, our redeemer. But what core transformation has occurred that translates into how we ‘live and move and have our being’? Is it enough to stay cloistered in our prayer closets in thankful adoration of the One who is holy and who has made us blameless before Him?

There is this not-so-little issue of truth-speaking.  Speaking the truth from our hearts is tied, it seems, to our invitation to dwell with God.  It is not just about God and me.  My ‘neighbour’ is included and is a necessary part of my relationship with God.  Jesus clearly explained that the greatest commandment to “Love the Lord your God” is bound closely with “lov(ing) your neighbour”.

“Christianity teaches that love is a relationship between: man-God-man, that is, that God is the middle term.” (Soren Kierkegaard, Works of Love).  So before I leave my morning time of prayer with God, I must once again ask God for the grace to love my neighbor this day. Then I must rise and go into my community—my family, my coworkers, drivers on the road with me, people who take advantage of me or irk me, all these my neighbours—and live the truth of God’s grace and love.

All-knowing God of Truth,
You have given me treasure
beyond my own understanding;
You have told me the truth of my condition
And of your solution;
You have loved me for my good;
Now you turn me outward
Toward my neighbour:
Family, friends, enemies,
All of these my neighbours.
May true thoughts of You be the source
Of every word I speak to others.
Truth.

 

Leave a Reply

